Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Welfare in Romania

Your social protection rights as a third-country nationals residing in Romania are mainly regulated via bilateral social security agreements signed with third countries. These agreements are negotiated at high-level social security administration and they vary substantially in terms of coverage, depending on the needs of the population residing in each country and the available budget. Currently, social security agreements are in place with the Russian Federation (1960), Algeria (1982), Peru (1982), Morocco (1983), Libya (1977), Turkey (2002), Macedonia (2007), Canada (2009), the Republic of Korea (2009), the Republic of Moldova (2010), Israel (2011), Albania (2015), Quebec (2015) and Serbia (2016). Moreover, a series of bilateral health agreements and conventions were signed to protect third-country nationals living in Romania. Yet, the coverage of these agreements is quite asymmetrical. For example, the agreement with Israel covers invalidity insurance and pensions, while the one with Canada does not. Similarly, the agreement with Moldova covers more than 11 types of benefits.

Source: Migrants’ Access to Social Protection in Romania | SpringerLink

List of countries that have a bilateral health agreement with Romania: LISTA Casa Națională de Asigurări de Sănătate (