Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer


In Romania freedom of religion and religious expression is protected both by the Constitution and law 489/2006 on religious freedom. There are 18 officially recognized cults and religions (the Orthodox church, the Roman and Greek Catholic church, several protestant churches, Muslim communities, Jewish communities, and others, but communities from other religions can also be found.